IFFK Audience Poll Award turns 18

Thiruvananthapuram: The Audience Poll Award turns 18 this year at the IFFK. The Academy Audience Poll Award was introduced in 2002 in recognition of an active audience at the festval. 'Dany' (made by ace film maker TV Chandran) had received the first Audience Poll Award.
It needs to be noted that many festivals around the globe have taken inspiration from IFFK  and have accorded immense significance to the audience.
As a tribute to the audience approach, the Festival Auto System was introduced by IFFK, in 2007, to provide free travel to delegates between venues, for the first time.
The much-awaited competition category began the very first year of the film festival after being taken over by the Kerala Chalachitra Academy. The Academy had obtained the Competitive (Specialization) Accreditation of International Federation of Film Producers Associations (FIAPF) for maintaining international standards. With this, the IFFK was placed on the calendar of film lovers around the world. It also became a venue for the development of an audience that takes film seriously.